# Alwington Parish Council Annual Parish Meeting 21st May 2019

# Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting held on Tuesday 21<sup>st</sup>, May 2019 at The Alwington Village Hall.

**Present:** Cllrs Gordon Lester, Chris Payne, Christine Moore, Brian Adams, Neill Rothney and Sarah Bourke.

**In attendance**: Cllr Phil Pennington Torridge District Council, Malcolm Harris (Clerk), 4 members of the public were also in attendance.

The Chairman welcomed everyone present to the Annual parish Meeting of the Alwington Parish Council.

AM1.19 Apologies: None received.

AM2.19 Declarations of interest: None recorded.

#### AM3.19 Chairman's Report 2018/19

Cllrs Gordon Lester began with a vote of thanks for the support to the Parish Council from Cllr Alison Boyle who did not stand for re-election. He also passed on thanks to Cllr Jane Whittaker. In general, the relationship with the District Council had improved in 2018/19.

A warm welcome was extended to Cllr Phil Pennington the newly elected Ward Member from TDC.

The good work of the Village Hall Committee was acknowledged.

Notable successes in 2018/19 were the development the new Parish website, and the ongoing work by Airband to introduce superfast broadband into the Parish. A presentation by Airband took place in the Village Hall on the 16<sup>th</sup> May, and the event was attended by 14 people.

#### AM4.19 Appointment of Chairman/Vice Chairman 2018/19

## **Election of chairman**

A nomination was received from Cllr Brain Adams that Cllr Gordon Lester be appointed as Chairman of the Parish Council for 2019/20. No other nominations were received.

It was proposed by Cllr Brian Adams and seconded by Cllr Sarah Bourke that Cllr Gordon Lester be appointed as Chairman for 2018/19. (all in favour).

It was **resolved** that Cllr Gordon Lester be appointed as Chairman of the Parish Council for 2019/20.

#### **Election of Vice – Chairman**

A nomination was received from Cllr Gordon Lester that Cllr Sarah Bourke be appointed as Vice Chair for 2019/20.

It was proposed by Cllr Christine Moore and seconded by Cllr Brian Adams.

## AM5.19 Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on the 29th, May 2018

Agreed as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

Proposed by Cllr Sarah Bourke and seconded by Cllr Neil Rothney (all in favour)

#### AM6.19 To nominate a representative as follows:

To nominate a representative from the Parish Council to attend meetings and act a trustee on the Village Hall Committee.

It was **resolved** to appoint Cllr Christine Moore for 2019/20.

Proposed by Cllr Gordon Lester, and seconded by Cllr Chris Payne. (all in favour)

To appoint the Internal auditor for 2019/20.

It was resolved to appoint Julie Snooks as the Internal Auditor for 2019/20.

# AM7.19 To receive accounts for the year ending 31st March 2019.

The Clerk circulated a copy of the final account statement for 2018/19. The statement has been approved by the Internal Auditor.

It was **resolved** to approve the accountancy statement for 2017/18

Proposed: Cllr Gordon Lester, and seconded by Cllr Brian Adams

#### AM8.19 Annual Governance and Accountability Return 2017/18 Part 2

- a) To sign the Certificate of Exemption
- b) Sign and approve the Annual Governance Statement for 2017/18
- c) Sign and approve the Accountancy Statement for 2017/18.

Resolved to approve all the above.

Proposed by Cllr Gordon Lester and seconded by Cllr Brian Adams.

The Chairman duly signed the documents.

#### AM9.19 To agree meeting dates for 2018/19

The Clerk submitted a list of 6 meetings for 2019/20 for consideration.

It was **resolved** to approve all the proposed dates.

Proposed: Cllr Gordon Lester and seconded by Cllr Christine Moore.

Signed	.Chairman.	Date
0		